New Mine Maps

Thirteen 7.5-minute quadrangle maps of abandoned mines in Marion, Randolph, St. Clair, Tazewell, Vermilion, Montgomery, Christian, Macoupin, and Calhoun Counties were completed. These maps, accompanied by directories containing detailed information on the mine histories and sources of information, have been delivered in both paper and digital formats to the Illinois Mine Subsidence Insurance Fund, the project sponsor, and to Illinois Department of Transportation, and are released to the public at this time. The quadrangles are Centralia East, Centralia West, Coulterville, Tilden, Baldwin, Marquette Heights, Georgetown, Raymond, Raymond Northeast, Virden South, Farmersville, Sidell, and Brussels (with a portion of Kampsville) Quadrangles. These maps and directories will help government planners, developers, and private citizens identify areas that have been undermined.