ISGS Staff Members Honored

Hannes Leetaru, left, and Mike Chrzastowski display their awards.On October 12, 2008, Hannes E. Leetaru was presented the Outstanding Educator Award for 2008 by the Eastern Section of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists at its annual meeting in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. The award was given in recognition of Leetaru's commitment to educating the next generation of petroleum geologists.

Michael J. Chrzastowski was honored with an achievement award by the Board of Directors of the American Shore & Beach Association (ASBPA) at the 2008 annual awards banquet held in Chicago on October 16. The award recognized his work as co-chairman for the 2008 ASBPA National Conference. At the 2008 annual board meeting of the American Shore and Beach Preservation Association in Chicago, Chrzastowski was elected to an additional two-year term as one of the 36 national board members.