Eight Maps of Abandoned Mines Completed

Mapping of abandoned mines has been completed for nine 7.5-minute quadrangles in Jackson, Perry, Randolph, Williamson, Franklin, Johnson, Gallatin, and Jefferson Counties. These Illinois State Geological Survey maps, accompanied by directories containing detailed information on the mine histories and sources of information, have been delivered in paper and digital formats to the Illinois Department of Transportation, the project sponsor, and are released to the public at this time. The mapped quadrangles are Ava, Vergennes, Elkville, Makanda, Goreville, Stonefort, Saline Mines, and Mount Vernon. These maps and directories will help government planners, developers, and private citizens identify areas that have been undermined.