Coal Mine Maps Released

One of the coal mine maps released In June 2010, the Illinois State Geological Survey coal mine mapping team (C. Chenoweth, A. Myers, and J. Obrad) completed maps and directories for 11 quadrangles: Creal Springs (Johnson and Williamson Counties), Eddyville (Pope and Saline Counties), Ina (Jefferson and Franklin Counties), Percy (Perry and Randolph Counties), Pyatts (Perry County), Raddle (Jackson County), Tamaroa (Perry, Jefferson, and Washington Counties), Todds Mill (Perry and Washington Counties), Waltersburg (Pope County), Waltonville (Jefferson and Franklin Counties), and Winkle (Perry and Washington Counties). The maps and directories were delivered to the Illinois Department of Transportation and the Illinois Mine Subsidence Insurance Fund, which support the ISGS work. Thus far, maps have been completed for 159 of the 385 Illinois quadrangles that have had underground coal mining activity. Maps for twelve new quadrangles are planned for the upcoming 6-month work period.