Jo Daviess County League of Women Voters Among the National Finalists for Effective Community Engagement Award

Poster presentation

The League of Women Voters (LWV) of Jo Daviess County has been chosen as one of four finalists for the National League of Women Voters’ Effective Community Engagement Award, to be presented at the national convention on June 16–19. The League in Jo Daviess County was chosen for spearheading a two-year, county-wide Water Resource Management Planning Project in 2014 aimed at reaching consensus on sustainable water management, storm water quality improvement, general water quality protection, and groundwater resource conservation. League members used the groundswell of dialogue around the controversial siting of a confined animal feeding operation (CAFO) within Jo Daviess County from 2007 to 2011 to help engage community members from every sector of the county by educating them on the issues, listening to their priorities and concerns, and building a sustainable Water Resource Management Plan.

Samuel Panno, Walton Kelly, Dennis Kolata, Donald Luman, and Donald Keefer from the Illinois State Geological Survey and Illinois State Water Survey of the Prairie Research Institute partnered with the LWV to assist them in promoting science-based stewardship and evidence-based decision making. They advised League members extensively on the project, provided the necessary geologic and hydrogeologic information on the county needed for their management plan, engaged in research, and gave presentations to the community in 2013 and 2015. Through their efforts, they helped translate science into a narrative that could easily be understood by members of the community and that could be used by the LWV. These efforts culminated in the publication of ISGS Circular 589, Characterization of Karst Terrain and Regional Tectonics Using Remotely Sensed Data in Jo Daviess County, Illinois, definitively documenting the karst terrain of Jo Daviess County. This publication has been nominated for the 2016 Geological Society of America John C. Frye Environmental Geology Award.

You may visit this link to select your nomination for the award: