Abandoned Mine Maps Delivered to IDOT

Map of abandoned mines in the De Soto quadrangleMapping of abandoned mines has been completed for 13 7.5-minute quadrangles in Jackson, Williamson, Franklin, Hamilton, and White Counties. Maps for those quadrangles, accompanied by directories containing detailed information on the mine histories and sources of information, have been delivered in both paper and digital formats to the Illinois Department of Transportation, the project sponsor, and are being released to the public at this time. The new maps are for the Carbondale, De Soto, Gorham, Oraville, Pomona, Christopher, Sesser, Ewing, Norris City, McLeansboro, Thackeray, Macedonia, and Enfield Quadrangles. The maps and directories will help government planners, developers, and private citizens to identify areas that have been undermined.