Abandoned Mine Maps and Directories for Nine Quadrangles Completed

Mapping of abandoned mines was completed by Illinois State Geological Survey staff for nine 7.5-minute quadrangles in Rock Island, Henry, Peoria, Tazewell, Sangamon, Christian, and Shelby Counties. The maps, accompanied by directories containing detailed information on the mine histories and sources of information, have been delivered in both paper and digital formats to the Illinois Mine Subsidence Insurance Fund (IMSIF), the project sponsor, and are released to the public at this time. The quadrangles are Coal Valley, Silvis, Peoria West, Peoria East, Pekin, Divernon, Pana, Virden North, and Murphysboro. The maps and directories will help government planners, developers, and private citizens identify areas that have been undermined.